collage image of a close-up of an medal and a group of award winners

Library of Congress Fiction Prizes

Since 2008, the Library of Congress has awarded a prize to distinguished writers of fiction.

The Library of Congress Lifetime Achievement Award for the Writing of Fiction was established in 2008 to honor a career dedicated to the literary arts.

This award was first presented to Herman Wouk on Sept. 10, 2008, during a ceremony sponsored by the Center for the Book in the Library’s Coolidge Auditorium. “Herman Wouk’s work epitomizes the historical novel and its ability to transcend its time and place to achieve universality in character and themes,” said Librarian of Congress James H. Billington. “Herman is a longtime supporter of the Library who has honored us with his presence on many occasions, and he was among the first group of recipients, during our bicentennial in 2000, of our Living Legend Award.”

This inaugural award has inspired subsequent Library of Congress fiction awards, given in connection with the Library’s annual National Book Festival.

Library of Congress Creative Achievement Award for fiction has been presented to John Grisham (2009), Isabel Allende (2010), Toni Morrison (2011) and Philip Roth (2012).

In 2013, Don DeLillo was given the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction for his body of extraordinary work.